Creating a novel…this is the way I roll!

Do you ever wonder where an author creates, imagines, and unfolds the story that has to be told? Like a few of my author friends, I find myself jotting down notes on just about anything on hand. Even using grocery or restaurant receipts if I’ve changed purses and forgot to toss in my trusty notebook. Without pen and paper, I’ll never keep remember the one line that’s a must for my story.
A vast majority of my writing has been spent in the comfort of my oversized recliner. And thank goodness it’s big because I share the space with my precious apricot poodle named Macy. She happens to think she shares the space with me instead of the other way around. I couldn’t resist sharing her usual spot with her head sprawled out on my keyboard.
Macy.png
Other favorite places to write include, my bed (especially in the mornings) or enjoying beautiful cool temperatures on the patio. Too many hours to count are spent at the dining room table with dozens of hummingbirds swarming the feeder. There’s something about those beautiful birds that help me relax so I can get through the pits of hell AKA writers block. (Notice the Sonic drink….keep reading and you’ll see they are everywhere!)
writing-chair
…And for those moments the story takes off in my mind and I’m all to thankful when I’ve harbored my laptop deep inside a too-big of a purse while sitting at places such as Sonic. (Don’t judge me, LOL!) Several of the best scenes I’ve written came from sipping a Route 44 Coke Zero in the middle of cars zipping all around 🙂
And then there’s the junk food that help make it happen, LOL!!!
stress-writing
For the most part creating characters, plots, and scenes are fun and exciting…but it can also be a pull your hair out/bang your head against the wall journey. Along the way of writing, editing, and re-writing, I found I needed a place to be serious. Where I can shut out the world, and focus with a do-not-disturb sign on hand. With the house still filled with kids, I didn’t have a room to spare to call mine. However I did have a place! Several years ago, we purchased an inexpensive armoire from Wal-Mart and placed it in our foyer for an old desktop. There’s a partial dividing wall separating the area from the living area. Since no one ever uses this space anymore, I decided to stake claim and call in my own. With a few small purchases to brand it the way I wanted, I now have my own writing cave. Yes, it’s tiny…but it’s mine! And I adore it.
my-writing-space
There’s a ton of dreamy writing spaces on Pinterest and I have some on my boards. Browse over and enjoy 🙂
And for Kathryn L. James, this is a sneak peek at how it’s done!
Happy reading and writing!
Until next time,
Kathryn L James (KJ)
Kathryn James lives in a southern small town with her husband and kids. Being a hopeless romantic, she loves to read and write about bad-boy sexy alpha males and a strong heroine. She weaves her characters along a roller coaster ride full of angst before they reach their HEA. The beach is one of her favorite places to relax and write. But most days, when she’s writing, you can find her snuggled under a blanket in a recliner with her sweet apricot poodle curled up beside her. She’s loves diet coke, and is certain it helped her stay awake pecking away on her laptop writing her debut novel Crazy Beautiful Lies and a short Crazy Beautiful Kiss in an anthology Story of a Kiss. She’s currently working on a wicked hot novel, Chasing Wicked. 
To connect with Kathryn:
Author: Kathryn L. James

I write contemporary romance under the name Kathryn L. James with a steamy edge. . .some say it borders erotica romance. I'm writing my first novel called Crazy Beautiful Lies and have fallen in love with my own characters Blake DeLuca and Jenna Capwell. I love a happy ending with angst along the way. My characters go through hell getting them to the HEA. When I'm not writing, I'm enjoying family time or at the day job as a nurse. Fortunately I have a day job, I happen to love! I married my high school sweetheart and after all these years still have it bad for him. :) We have three amazing kids who are grown and blessed with two little ones who visit often. And if we're going to tell everything about me, I can't leave out my sweet poodle who is usually in my lap while I'm pecking away on my story. I have an addiction to chocolate, love Moscato D'Asti and hates coconut cream and pecan pies.

Leave a Reply

